Big Dan's Ramblings

Ramblings from a Boston Boy stuck in New York

Hamburgers – BDR Style

Big Dan's RamblingsBeing that it’s Labor Day and there’s a lot of grilling going on, I figured I’d share my hamburger recipe with you all.  I’ve been experimenting a lot lately on the grill and I believe that I have defined a great hamburger (at least that’s what my family and friends have said).  It’s really simple to make them.

Here’s what I do. First, you’ll need to gather your ingredients.  The list below is what I have been using:

Hamburgers
2lbs Ground Beef (85% lean max – you want a little fat)
¼ cup Fresh Chopped Parsley
¼ cup Bread Crumbs (I prefer Italian Mix)
2 Eggs, slightly beaten
Peter Lugers Steak Sauce to taste (optional)
Salt (to taste)
Pepper (to taste)

I throw everything in a bowl and mix it up.  Be sure to mix the eggs in very well.  Once everything is mixed up, I usually cover the box with plastic wrap and let it sit for an hour or so on the counter.  You can even make this mixture the night before and let it sit overnight in the refrigerator.

Once the meat mixture has sat for a while, I take out my trusty kitchen scale and measure out half-pound pieces of meat.  Ball them up shape them into a burger shape.  You’re ready to grill.

When I grill, I use a propane fueled grill.  Turn all the burners on full blast and let the grill warm-up for at least half and hour.  I then turn off the center burner and turn the outer burners to a medium temperature.  Immediately place the burgers on the middle section.  This approach is called indirect grilling.  By having the grill hot, you’ll get the nice grill marks that a good hamburger always has.  I let the burger sit on this side for a few minutes, then flip it over.  After about 5-7 minutes of total grill time, your hamburgers should be ready.  You can add cheese, bacon, etc at this point.

Best of luck folks!  Let me know how this all works out for you.

2 responses to “Hamburgers – BDR Style

  1. Pingback: Ramblings | 2010 Year In Review « Big Dan's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

